ESA signature
23 - 26 September 2024 ESA-ESRIN

EO for Africa Symposium 2024


ESA is pleased to announce the organization of the 2024 EO for Africa Symposium in partnership with the African Union Commission (AUC), African Association of Remote Sensing of the Environment (AARSE), the European Commission (EC), the European Organization for the Exploitation of Meteorological Satellites (EUMETSAT), and the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA). The symposium is scheduled to take place from 23 to 26 September 2024 at ESA-ESRIN in Frascati, Italy.

Collaborations between Africa and Europe in Earth Observation (EO) have a rich history spanning decades. ESA has been a leader in various initiatives and is currently implementing the EO African Framework for Research, Innovation, Communities, and Applications (AFRICA) Initiative. This initiative aims to build an African-European R&D partnership and facilitate the sustainable adoption of Earth Observation and related space technology in Africa, following an African user-driven approach with a long-term (>10 years) vision for the digital era in Africa.

Under the auspices of the Africa Union Commission (AUC), ESA has established longstanding and fruitful collaborations with numerous African entities holding local, regional, and continental responsibilities.
In this framework, ESA is honored to co-organize this Symposium and invites all interested parties to submit their abstracts and/or participate.


The aim of the Symposium is to:

  • Showcase the latest R&D EO Science and Applications achievements relevant for the African continent;
  • Further facilitate international EO R&D collaborations across Africa and Europe;
  • Continue the user-driven process of capturing EO high-priority topics for future R&D and capacity development joint efforts;
  • Share information about future EO missions, digital technology, and the related opportunities;
  • Discuss the challenges and opportunities to accelerate the integration of downstream services in operational solutions.


Science into application and policy making 
International/Development cooperation (AUC/EU/US/….) 
EO at African Space Agency 
Digital transformation and innovation 
Data and tool exchange
Copernicus services use (products used in Africa) 
EO private sector in Africa  



Water, energy and food security


Resource management

Marine & coastal resources

Vulnerability, health,
and livelihood

Climate Change &
disaster resilience


Abstract Submission

The abstract submissions are CLOSED!

All the presentations will be made available in the final programme published on the website after the Sympoisum.
All the authors who don’t wish to have their presentation published, are kindly requested to inform the organiser accordingly in due time.
There are no Special Proceedings foreseen for the Symposium.


Participation in the oral and poster programme will be decided by the Scientific Committee following the review of the submitted abstracts.
No participation fee will be charged. Participants are expected to finance their own travel and accommodation expenses.
The official language of the symposium is English.

All the authors and interested parties are kindly requested to contact for the VISA invitation letter requests.

Schedule and Deadlines

Abstract submission opening25 January 2024
Abstract submission closure – extended30 April 2024
Notification of acceptanceJune 2024
Issue of Preliminary ProgrammeJune 2024
Registration OpeningJune 2024
Issue of Final Programmeat the Symposium
Symposium23 – 26 September 2024

Organising Committee

Catherine Ghyoot

European Commission – EC DG-INTPA

Solomon Gebremariam Tesfamichael

African Association of Remote Sensing of the Environment – AARSE

Mahaman Bachir Saley

African Union Commission – AUC

Andreas Brink

European Commission – EC DG-JRC

Diana Chavarro Rincon


Marco Clerici

European Commission – EC DG-JRC

Cecilia Donati

European Commission – EC DG-INTPA

Vincent Gabaglio

European Organisation for the Exploitation of Meteorological Satellites – EUMETSAT

Benjamin Koetz

European Space Agency – ESA

Kamal Labbassi

African Association of Remote Sensing of the Environment – AARSE

Ashutosh S. Limaye

National Aeronautics and Space Administration – NASA

Michel Massart

European Commission – EC DG-JRC

Janet Nackoney

Bureau for Resilience, Environment and Food Security – U.S. Agency for International Development

Giuseppe Ottavianelli

European Space Agency – ESA

Tidiane Ouattara

African Union Commission – AUC

Francesco Palazzo

Serco for European Space Agency – ESA

Nancy D. Searby

National Aeronautics and Space Administration – NASA

Zoltan Szantoi

European Space Agency – ESA

Scientific Committee


Riadh Abdelfattah

Université de Carthage

Hamimed Abderrahmane

University of Mascara

Ernest Acheampong

Group on Earth Observations (GEO)

Elhadi Adam

University of The Witwatersrand

Odunayo Adeniyi

European Space Agency – ESA

Matthew Adepoju

National Space Research & Development Agency (NASRDA)

Michael Aduah

University of Mines and Technology – IAHS

Justin Ahanhanzo


Abdelhakim Amazirh

European Space Agency – ESA

Berhan Gessesse Awoke

Ethiopian Space Science and Geospatial Institute

Erlinda Biescas


Elias Cherenet

Haramaya University

Moses Cho


Chiara Corbari


Lacina Coulibaly

Université de Moncton

Jean Homian Danumah

Centre universitaire de recherche et d’application en teledetection (CURAT)

Timothy Dube

University of Western Cape

Rania Elsayed Ibrahim

National Authority for Remote Sensing and Space Sciences, Cairo, Egypt

Gohar Ghazaryan

Leibniz Centre for Agricultural Landscape Research (ZALF)

Anthony Gidudu

Makerere University

Rafika Hajji


Eliakim Hamunyela

University of Namibia

Femi Emmanuel Ikuemonisan

Lagos State University of Education

Amos Kabo-Bah

University of Energy and Natural Resources, Ghana

Mejdi Kaddour

University of Oran

Michael Kizza

Nile Basin Initiative Secretariat

Kouakou Jean-Luc Kouassi


Jide Kufoniyi

Obafemi Awolowo University

Rodgers Makwinja

University of Johannesburg

Aboubakar Mambimba Ndjoungui


M. T. Marshall

University of Twente (UT-ITC)

Cheikh Mbow

CSE – Centre de Suivi Écologique

Getachew Mehabie Mulualem

Bahir Dar University

Daniel Ayalew Mengistu

Bahir Dar University

Foster Mensah

University of Ghana

Amadou Moctar Dieye

Centre de Suivi Ecologique (CSE) Dakar

Kenneth Mubea

Digital Earth Africa

Janet Nackoney

U.S. Agency for International Development

Chrétien Ngouanet

National Institute of Cartography

Hector Nieto


Phoebe Oduor

SERVIR Science Coordination Office

Lonia Okhimamhe

Federal University of Technology Minna

Olayinka Simeon Oladeji

Ladoke Akintola University of Technology

Japheth O. Onyando

Egerton University

Veronika Otto


Chiara Pratola


Solofo Rakotondraompiana

University of Antananarivo

Aicha Rochdi

Faculty of Sciences and Technics (FSTS)

Valentina Santarsiero


Cletah Shoko

University of the Witwatersrand

Pierre Sibiry Traore

International Crops Research Institute for the Semi-Arid Tropics

Juan Suárez


Souleymane Sidi Traore

Université des Sciences Sociales et de Gestion de Bamako

Adriaan Van Niekerk

Stellenbosch University

Anastasia Wahome

Alliance of Bioversity International and CIAT

Leigh Ann Winowiecki

ICRAF – Coalition of Action 4 Soil Health (CA4SH)

Gebeyehu Abebe Zeleke

European Space Agency – ESA

Contact info

For information regarding the submissions, author instructions, scientific committee related inquiries please contact
For information regarding the logistics of the venue place, support with logistics booking, registration and the VISA invitation letter requests, please contact